National Amateur Walking Shooting Dog Championship

First conducted in 1977 at the Assunpink Wildlife Area in Clarksburg, N.J. , the National Amateur Walking Shooting Dog Classic was the forerunner of this amateur championship. The organizers of the classic were Dick Quackenbush, Bill Beyer, Bruce Hollowich and others. The inaugural running in April of 1988, however, was held at the Glendale Wildlife Area near Washington, Indiana. The following year it was held on the Assunpink grounds the classic that preceded it ran on.

The first running was engineered by Robert C. Graham, Jr. secretary of the host club, the White River Field Trial Club who rallied help from surrounding clubs including Kenneth Ivy, president of the Southwestern Indiana Club who served as marshal. The championship was deemed a great success with 38 starters, entries from 14 states: Indiana, Illinois, Ohio, Arkansas, Missouri, Texas, Virginia, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Pennsylvania.

Since then, the championship has been hosted by AFTCA clubs in various parts the country like Tabor, Texas; Eskridge, Kansas; Berea, Kentucky and Grovespring, Missouri.

No particular species of game bird is designated for the championship to be run on.

The winner of the inaugural running in 1989 was pointer male, Stephen’s Super Sport, owned and handled by Steven Smith. Runner-Up was setter female Bob Lee’s Dot owned and handled by Bob Lee. AFTCA Secretary at the time, Leslie Anderson, reported the inaugural running and wrote the following about the winners:

“Sport was the epitome of a good hunting dog, pattern was the way a dog should do it, and had great rapport with handler, great eye appeal. Sport had an unproductive at 45 where handler seemed sure there were no birds, but dog refused to move at whistle. At 59 and 20 seconds, according to the judge on his time, Sport had a perfect find.”

“Dot ran a good strong race, well patterned, a very attractive moving dog, had one unproductive, and four finds, all well handled. A nice dog to take hunting.”

Bob Lee’s Dot was the winner of the championship the following year.