2022-2023 Top Handler


Kenric DeLong wins the 2022-2023 AFTCA Top Handler Award

Kenric Delong of Greenville Michigan handled his four dogs to an impressive 20 placements with a 593-point total to distance himself from the balance of the field in the just-concluded field trial season. Ken’s placements occurred continuously throughout the season while attending  17 different AFTCA member club trials.  His KDel’s Eagle Magnum Hotshot Brittany male placed 8 times for 294 points, May’s Legacy of Justice Pointer male placed 8 times for 212 points, Faith’s Maximum Justice a pointer male placed 3 times for 72 points, and KDel’s Eagle Chance to Soar Brittany female placed once for 15 points.  The placements include 6 amateur derby placements and 14 amateur shooting dog placements.

The top points earners from each region are recognized below.  Each will receive a blue crystal award commemorating their impressive accomplishments in handling excellence.

Over 200 winners were recognized this past season with a point total in excess of 10,000 total points. Amateur handler participation, as well as 30-minute Amateur All-Age, Shooting Dog, and Derby stakes, have grown in the past few years.  Our sport and member clubs recognize that the health and future of the sport are critically connected to these all-important field trial stakes. The AFTCA thanks all of the member club’s efforts to hold and promote 30-minute amateur stakes in their venues, which remains a critical component to the sport’s future success.  If your club event did not include these point-eligible stakes, we hope you will consider adding them to your 2023-2024 events.


AFTCA Regional Top Handler Awards


                                AFTCA                   Amateur                                                                              Total

Region                  Handler                               City, State                           Points  

1                             Douglas Dix                         Whitingham                       163

2                             Eric Munden                      Philipsburg                          247

3                             Cliff Monroe                      Mooresboro                          252

4                             Mike Small                          Evansville                           113

5                             Craig Hiatt                           Edgerton                            195

6                             David Russell                      Como                                 192

7                             Ken Sauer                            Alvord                                113

8                             William Langley                Fairland                                 96

9                             Daniel Campbell               Salt Lake City                       10

11                           Don Pool                              Madera                              33

11                           Jim Rose                              Clayton                              33

13                           Kenric DeLong                   Greenville                           593

14                           Sam Handous                    Edmonton                           24

16                           Lance Servais                     Cecil                                  219

17                           Kelli Aitken                         Box Elder                            30

19                           Adam DeLude                    Campbellsport                    82


Proudly Sponsored by